Week 2/4 of Birthday Month

 

image1 (21)

The Bowrings

 

Right now I am in the Bowring’s convertible, wearing pants, on our way to the Suwannee river to go on an airboat ride!! 🚤🎊They really are the best people in existence. Two claps for a fun P day! The highlights of this week are as follows

Zone Meeting

Where all 48 missionaries in the Gainesville stake/Zone got together for a few hours jam packed with revelation & inspiration for the following month. I’ve  been to a lot of zone meetings in my life. One for every month I’ve been on my mission, actually. They’re pretty good for he most part. But this month!! I feel like I learned so much!! Two of the four trainings were on things that I’ve really been trying to figure out/implement into my work here. I feel like I have so much new ammo to quench the fiery darts of the adversary now! Plus, Sister Case is now in my zone. You may remember her from the first half of my mission. We got to go to lunch together & reminisce about the good old days.

Trade Offs

Yay!  I had the pleasure & privilege of spending 24 hours with Sister Mansfield in the YSA area. We slurped slurpees & got sunburnt while teaching the law of tithing. Trade offs are always a breathe of fresh air & the sisters are always so good at making us feel like we can do no wrong & we are the best people in the world.

Stake Conference

This is my second stake conference in the Gainesville stake. The first of which was my very first Sunday here. Yesterday someone said to me, “wow. You’ve been here awhile, huh?” YUP. stake conference was so neat. Our area 70, Elder Munns came & spoke at both Saturday & Sunday night. This was his last assignment as an area 70. Both sessions were awesome & totally focused on missionary work. Towards the end he passed out some microphones & told everyone to think of the most random sentences they could & he would relate it to the gospel. There were questions such as, “what’s a Pokemon?” “I wish I could reach the top shelf at the grocery store” “the employees at Walmart are so rude!” “How would you like your steak cooked?” & my favorite from our very own bishop, ” sir, can you explain to me why you were going 65 on a 35 mph road?” Elder Munns laughed & said, “That’s easy. I’ve had lots of practice with this one. I am late for a church meeting!”

Miracle of Miracles

Two weeks ago I was reading in Alma 5 when Alma was teaching some people & he kept mentioning “the spirit told me that…” Or “by the spirit, I perceive…” & I just really wanted to be like Alma & start verbally giving the spirit the credit He deserves. So, I made a goal that day to talk to people about the promptings I received. WELL HAHA, UNIVERSE, cause we basically didn’t talk to a single soul that day. BUT I didn’t let that deter me. I wrote on every single note we left on people’s doors that day, “hello! We felt promoted by the spirit to stop by today….blah blah blah.”

Fast forward two days

We are checking our voicemails at the end of the night & there’s a voicemail from a number we don’t know. It goes as follows, ” Hello…I don’t really know who you are, but my name’s Alyssa. I got your note on my door….it’s so weird because I was praying that I would find someone to talk to, I just have all these different things going on in my life….please call me back so we can talk. I can’t wait to hear from you.”

UHM OKAY, THAT NEVER HAPPENS!!! Folks, we are meeting with her TONIGHT! We are so excited. We know that God provides us with miracles when we respond to the promptings we receive when reading scriptures.

THE GOSPEL IS ALIVE & WELL

It’s my birthday soon!

Elder Zane Nuttall of the Mesa, Arizona mission wins for best present so far. A hand made care-bear card with two never before seen pass along cards. Pictures included.

Have a blessed day, y’all.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

Leave a comment