Faith Has a Short Shelf-Life

Sometimes during life you make specific plans about how the next couple days/weeks/months/years are going to go & then Heavenly Father’s like, “lol ive got somethin else in mind” AND NOTHING WORKS OUT HOW YOU ANTICIPATED AND NOW SUDDENLY YOU HAVE GAVE TO MAKE A MILLION NEW LIFE PLANS. & then you get a little scared. & a little sad. & feel like your life is careening out of control.

Then you take a deep breath.

& you remember that that’s not the first time you’ve ever felt like that. That in fact, life rarely agrees with all of your plans 100%. & you realize that everything always ends up working out & that God knows way more about what we need/where we need to be/who we need to be with. Then you take another deep breath, pray for forgiveness for your faithlessness, & give it to Him to worry about.

That’s how my week has been.

Is everyone excited for Christmas? Are you making sure to spend lots of time serving your loved ones? I know you are. Are you having any missionary moments? It’s been a couple months since anyone has shared with me their miracles sharing the good news of the gospel!

We spent a LOT of time with other missionaries this week. We had zone meeting where we were trained on consecration, among other things. Someone made a comment about how we are expected to follow all of the rules in the white handbook. That is the bare minimum we are expected to do. If you do the bare minimum, that just means you are obedient. It is once you start going the extra mile & staying as far away from the line as you can that you become truly consecrated. We make promises with Heavenly Father to live consecrated lives & do all we can to help others do the same!

We also had two different service projects with our district. One of which was with Kevin. We helped him clean out one of his rental properties & he took us all out to lunch at a buffet afterwords! We were the only sisters there, so I felt like I was back in Dunn at the boy’s club. The other project we did was at the St Francis House which is a soup kitchen.

On Friday we had interviews with President Craig. The Zone Leaders & Sister Training Leaders trained us on first contacts & inspired questions. It was really fun & we all laughed a lot about how awkward it is to be a missionary. You should try it sometime. It really is so awkward. President Craig had some great advice for me in regards to training & some of our investigators. He’s a great man & the perfect example of consecration. I am so grateful for the example he & Sister Craig have been to me. I’ll probably still be calling them for advice 10 years down the road.

We have some fun things planned for this week. Like for instance, tonight I will be going on a trade off with Sister Bolos, my emptysea comp, to the YSA branch. Then we have our mission Christmas party AND I GET TO STAY THE NIGHT WITH SISTER RANDLE IN DUNN AVE for my doctor’s appointment the next day YAYYY.

I love being a missionary.
1 Corinthians 15:10 But by the grace of God I am what I am: and his grace which was bestowed upon me was not in vain; but I laboured more abundantly than they all: yet not I, but the grace of God which was with me.

Leave a Reply

