4 quarters vs 100 pennies

Happy Halloween, friends!

Elder Green brought in doughnuts for our district meeting when we reached all of our new investigator goals!!

Elder Green brought in doughnuts for our district meeting when we reached all of our new investigator goals!!

We are loving all of the spooky decorations that remind us it is October. It’s been in the 80’s every day this week, which means it’s felt like the Fourth of July not chilly, crisp, leaf crunching autumn nights! (Lol, Sister Randle just climbed on her bed with her blankets to take a nap & started singing “I Wanna Be Like You” from the Jungle
Book quietly under her breath like I couldn’t hear her.)

Let me tell you a secret about the south. EVERYONE IS LOOKING OUT THEIR FRONT WINDOW AT ALL TIMES OF THE DAY. seriously, nobody has anything better to do, I guess. So everyone always knows we’re coming before we get there. 9/10 times whenever we drive by somewhere slowly or park somewhere at night, we will have 1 or 2 people come out & stare at us or tell us to leave even before we get out of the car. We usually don’t listen to them because the law caint keep me from parking on a public street, THANK YOU. That would be why the law has been called twice on us now. It is such a strange cultural phenomenon. I don’t think I’ll ever understand it. So that happened to us last night during Golden Hour. Shortly after that, we knocked on a baptist minister’s door & eventually got let in by a man named Eric who went to Boy Scouts in a Mormon church in South Carolina when he was young. The Walking Dead was on & the couple glimpses I saw & the sounds I heard coming from it made me feel like it was the gnarliest, grossest thing known to man. But it was also hard to look away. When did Carl’s hair get so long? ….I digress. That was my worldly temptation of the week. & also me realizing how hard it will be adjusting to real life again. I think I’m going to take it as slow as possible so I can enjoy this blissful innocence for as long as possible. For instance, the other day I remembered that cars have access to the radio. Who forgets something like that??!

I sang in sacrament yesterday & it went well! We got a lot of compliments & an influx of people signing up to feed us. Maybe it was a coincidence, maybe not. When sister Sprague was signing up to have us over she said, “you know, I don’t even bother with the elders. Why have 100 pennies when you can have 4 quarters?” Hahaha. Whenever sis R & I talk about the elders now, we just say “the pennies”. Transfers are in two weeks!! Can you believe I’ve been here since June?! So crazy, I felt like I just got here! & I love everyone so much. & also I’ve never left the Jax East Stake, so I know the Stake President, all the high councilmen, & whenever we go to stake activities I always have a million friends. I would not be sad at all if I get to spend another transfer with Sister Randle in the DA. I have a feeling that whenever I get transferred next, there will be big changes!

I think I mentioned before about how Sister Sprague has six kids under the age of 16 & is in the process of trying to adopt three more under the age of 4? Well, we went over there this week to help put up some walls in their 100 year old house! We didn’t actually do much. We did paint!…. Our names onto the wall. We were a big help, okay? Get off our backs.

IMG_0220

This week was a load of fun. We met some new people, said goodbye to some old people, & gained stronger relationships with some we already knew!! I am reading in The end of Alma in the Book of Mormon right now, which is my absolute FAVORITE part of the Book of Mormon. I love how often it talks about the Nephites motives. How they never delighted in bloodshed & would only ever fight if it were for the liberty of their country, freedom for their wives, children, & religion.

This morning I was reading in 48:23 which reads, “Now, they were sorry to take up arms against the Lamanites, because they did not delight in the shedding of blood; yea, and this was not all–they were sorry to be the means of sending so many of their brethren out of this world into an eternal world, unprepared to meet their God.”

The Nephites truly understand the purpose of this life, which is to prepare to meet God. They needed to protect their homes, families, & religious freedoms, but they did not delight in the shedding of their fellowman’s blood. They knew that upon death, the Lamanites would not have as great of a chance coming to know the truth of their Heavenly Father as they would on Earth. THAT is what saddened them. THAT is what made going to war so hard for them. If I were them, I would probably WANT to go to war & wipe them all out so they would quit bugging us. But the Nephites are so Christlike. They understand the covenant they made at baptism to invite others to come unto Christ. These guys are the telletubbies of the New World. All they want is happiness for their brethren, even though all their brethren want to do is wipe them off the face of the earth for LITERALLY no good reason at all. I think we could all take a leaf outta their book.

Eat some candy for me & send me something in my
mailboximnotjokingthistimeyoubetterdoitorelsecuzistillhaventgottwnanyletters.

We went to the Museum of Natural History for P day with Laura & Jason & some kids from JAX BEACH. then we all made fun of sis R's sorority

We went to the Museum of Natural History for P day with Laura & Jason & some kids from JAX BEACH. then we all made fun of sis R’s sorority

Elder Green brought in doughnuts for our district meeting when we reached all of our new investigator goals!!

Elder Green brought in doughnuts for our district meeting when we reached all of our new investigator goals!!

❤️Luv yew.
Sister Aure

Leave a Reply

