If We Don’t Try, Then We Don’t Do; If We Don’t Do, Then Why Are We Here?‏

FullSizeRenderselfie1

This week has been a crazy week & I always feel like that, but I never feel like anything I write about is particularly crazy, so I guess you’ll just have to take my word for it.

We met this guy named Roberto who is 82 & came to church & just loved it so much. “It feels like a family here. I feel the spirit!” We invited him to baptism that day with his wife and they both said yes!! But then the adversary got to them. & Roberto called us today saying that he was going to take a break & that they were moving too fast & that we shouldn’t stop by this week. We’re going to drop by a Spanish Book of Mormon & hopefully help him feel the spirit of truth again.

The place I’m in right now is playing a bunch of bad, early 2010’s pop & is super distracting. So. Sorry about the quality of this email. That’s what pop music does to you, kids! It mushes your brain.

We had Zone Meeting this week which was really great. We have the biggest zone in our mission of 38 missionaries. In March, we had 2 baptisms, in April we had 6, & in May we had 12. Our zone leaders set a goal for every companionship to have a baptism by the end of the month which would make the end result 19 baptisms for June. This is why Roberto was such a miracle. We’re hoping that he can continue use to be our “Jumpsuit June” miracle & that he, along with his wife, will accept all of the blessings God has in store for them.

Our tye dye shirts we made at zone p day! Mine looks bloody.

Our tye dye shirts we made at zone p day! Mine looks bloody.

After Zone Meeting we went out with Sister Francom & Jensen to Steak N Shake & just loved each other.

My favorite people

My favorite people

I’ve been thinking a lot this week about faith & what the heck that even means. Is it something you just have? What does it do? Why does it exist? I read this great thing in the bible dictionary about it that says, “Strong faith is developed by obedience to the gospel of Jesus Christ; in other words, faith comes by righteousness, although miracles often confirm ones faith.” So, in other words, miracles don’t happen because we’re faithful & we “believe”, but more along the lines of, “…And when we obtain any blessing from God, it is by obedience to that law upon which it is predicated.”

& obedience isn’t a one time, “Oh, I obeyed the word of wisdom today, I guess I deserve blessings!” But a lifelong pursuit. Although every time we choose the right, we are showing God that we want to follow His will, if we’re choosing right just because we want blessings, that’s not a true conversions. We aren’t really learning obedience, we’re just learning how to play the system. Which doesn’t work with God, don’tcha know.

When I imagined my mission before I arrived, I imagined my setting apart & life experiences helping me soar above the average new missionary quota. & I think maybe we could feel that way about anything in life. Because you were chosen for a calling, doesn’t that mean you’re perfect for the job? That you’ll be a master at it to begin with? Same with becoming a wife, or a father? Or that new job you’ve been dreaming of? You got that position because you’re the best one to do it, right? Yeah. Kind of. We’re the right ones for the job, when we do it with God. Elder Robert D Hales said it best when he gave his first General Conference address as a member of the 12 apostles:

“To be an apostle (missionary) of the Lord, I am finding, is a process- a process of repentance & humility, to look inward as we’ve been instructed & ask for forgiveness & strength to be what I should be. Unfortunately, I am not a perfect man (woman), and infallibility does not come with the call. Therefore, I must ask Heavenly Father for forgiveness for those things which I have done which are less than perfect & ask forgiveness of anyone I might have offended knowingly or unknowingly because of my personality or style.”

I guess it all comes down to humility. Who woulda thought.

Sister Aure

This Popsicle melted before I could finish it):

This Popsicle melted before I could finish it):

Nightly planning

Nightly planning

These cute kids go tracting with us every week.

These cute kids go tracting with us every week.

IMG_2671

                              Backwoods Tracting

2 thoughts on “If We Don’t Try, Then We Don’t Do; If We Don’t Do, Then Why Are We Here?‏

  1. I’m glad to see that you are doing well, and I like your perspective. Hopefully Roberto will start going back. Katherine and I miss having you here! Continue your good work, and we will continue praying for you!

    Best wishes,

    TJ

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

