“What should I Title This Email?”-Sis A “Big Cats, Fat Hats….It’s My Birthday.” -Sis J‏

Best Birthday Ever

Best Birthday Ever

Due to festivities & it being the day where I get to do whatever I want except not really cause I’m a missionary, I am sorry in advance if I did not get around to writing you. I will try extra hard next week to email everyone back. This week was the best week ever for a lot of different reasons.

On Wednesday we got a call from the assistants asking if we could drive to transfer meeting and take a sister with us that would be going home that week. We picked up Sister Herrera & brought her back to  JAX Beach for her last day in the mission field. Sister Herrera speaks Spanish so we took her to visit our Chilean family & also we just happened to run into a bunch of Spanish speakers that she as able to share the gospel with. By the end of the day, we had talked to three people that told us, “You know I was just talking yesterday about how I needed to find a church” or “I was just praying for help a couple minutes before you knocked on my door.” Being an instrument for the Lord is so cool. OH ALSO SISTER JENSEN’S BIKE FLEW OFF OF OUR BIKE RACK GOING 60 MPH ON A FREEWAY AND SOMEHOW AVOIDED GETTING RUN OVER AND/OR GETTING RUINED. it just has some minor flesh wounds. Miracles, my friends.

Gave that guy a Mormon.org card at a stoplight

Gave that guy a Mormon.org card at a stoplight

Oh I changed my major. I think. In my head. Not officially. Can’t do that for at least 14 months. Holla back.

Heavenly Father blessed us so much this week. We had a real desire to work hard and talk to a lot of people, so that’s what we did! He put so many prepared people in our path. On Thursday night we had FIVE LESSONS in TWO HOURS! And also we went out for food twice that day thanks to amazing members.

Sister Jensen's POS (Plan of Salvation, hehe)

Sister Jensen’s POS (Plan of Salvation, hehe)

Jalapeno popper shots for my 21st birthday at Longhorn!

Jalapeno popper shots for my 21st birthday at Longhorn!

Crawfish…Super gross

Crawfish…Super gross

Saturday was amazing. The end.

Our ward missionaries/leader/random people in the ward got together for an amazing race type scavenger hunt! I picked the Simmons family to be my team members! They’re the family we had lunch with on Easter & that have the African Cervil. That’s probably not spelled right. Anyway, we got a packet with a bunch of pass along cards in it as well as a Book of Mormon and a list of tasks to do for points! We brought treats to a less active family…we bore testimony of the Book of Mormon and shared scriptures….we raked yards with brooms…we blasted hymns out the car windows….we hauled people’s groceries….all under an hour! Oh, and brother Simmons got to talk to my dad on the phone about how much they both love me, so that was the best birthday present ever. Heavenly Father sure loves me!!

Our team for the scavenger hunt!!

Our team for the scavenger hunt!!

Giving treats to people

Giving treats to people

Then to top it all off, we met up with the elder’s neighbor that we’ve been trying to contact foreeeeveeeerrrr & we have an appointment with her tonight!!! With Laura! Who is taking us out for birthday dinner!! After we go out with our investigator Jazz! Who surprised Sister J & I with gift cards and hand made signs yesterday. She’s surprising us with something, so I’ll tell you about how that goes next week.

Last night the Chilean (Rosbach) family had us over for dinner for the first time without a translator!! It was so fun communicating through the little Spanish I remember from freshman year at UVU and the little more English they are learning at school and classes. They moved here from chile in February because Sandy married somebody in our ward! Sandy converted when she was a young adult and served a mission less than a year later! Talk about faith. She told us last night that her husband  (he’s not there a lot, because he travels for work) needs to be baptized again because he had a time in his life where he was very far away from living the gospel of Jesus Christ, so now we have a new investigator! Sandy wants to be sealed to him in the temple so bad & is hoping we can help him get there. With her faith & God’s help we know we can help him keep and make commitments that will help him step into the cleansing waters of baptism once again.

UPDATE: remember that guy we found at the park weeks ago? He has a baptismal date & has been attending church andlivesinarlingtonsowehadtohandhimovertothezoneleadersanddweretryingnottobesadaboutit. We were part of his journey though, so we’ll take that.

We were part of his journey though, so we’ll take that

Sister J is real great & helps me be my best and woke up at 1 AM this morning secretly to decorate the whole apartment with balloons and a piñata and “Hey, Happy Birthday” signs. She also doesn’t hate me for naming her morning studies with the poop emoji while mine is the princess emoji. She actually laughed really hard about it, so I think she likes me.

I love it here & I love being able to start my mornings with an intensive study of the Book of Mormon. It has brought me many answers and clarity it times of confusion and jumbled thoughts. Thank you one and all for the best birthday I’ve ever had (yes, even better than #golden20 if you can imagine that). I’ve loved the outpouring of emails, letters, and packages. I’ve never felt more loved & I’ve never felt like I was doing something so worthwhile. For my birthday, I want you to either go to a teaching appointment with the missionaries or invite them over for dinner. You will make theirs (and my!) day.

Fruit trees everywhere!

Fruit trees everywhere!

Happy My Birthday, everyone. I hope it’s a good one; you deserve it.

Sister 21
Leave a Reply

