Sister Jensen

IMG_0180

I always wish I had something funny lined up to start these with, but I just don’t have time to think about missionary one-liners. Or the brain power. Sleep, study, preach, breathe, preach, eat, preach, study, repeat.

#MissionaryLyfe

#MissionaryLyfe

I love it though.

On Wednesday our relief society president drove us to Mandarin so we could say goodbye and meet our new companions. At every transfer meeting they have the departing missionaries bear their testimonies. We have a lot of spiritual meetings as missionaries, but I think those ones win the prize. There were a few missionaries that I have worked with leaving (I felt like I was in high school again watching all of my friends graduate and leave me behind) so it was a blessing to hear them bear their dying testimonies about what serving a mission has meant to them. It’s impossible to not feel the importance of not wasting a minute of the Lord’s time while listening to His servants say goodbye. I’ve really been thinking a lot this week about how serving a mission is truly a life long commitment because we have people that will be watching us and emulating us for the rest of our lives. Investigators and members that we served along side with will always remember us at our absolute best that we can only be when we are living the consecrated life of a missionary. I want people to say, “I feel the spirit when you’re in my home” for the rest of my life, not just on the mission.”

I digress.

New companion sister Jensen!

                              New companion sister Jensen!

Saying goodbye to sister Blatter with our favorite fish tacos‏

Saying goodbye to sister Blatter with our favorite fish tacos‏

Sister Pasko surprised me with that wind chime upon her departing. Best trainer ever.

Sister Pasko surprised me with that wind chime upon her departing.
                                         Best trainer ever.

We picked up Sister Jensen and brought her back to the Beach. She’s really great. She’s from Portland and we listen(ed) to a lot of the same music. She watched Freaks & Geeks back home, so don’t worry, she’s a cool kid. We were able to hit the ground running and talk to everybody about the gospel. We had a miracle week of 6 member present lessons, 6 recent convert/less active lessons, and 13 other lessons! Top it all off with Miss Chris coming to church and solidifying her baptism date for the 29th of March. Pls say prayers that it will go through.

I love being a missionary because I get to learn how to put to use everything I’ve learned my whole life. I feel that I finally understand why the scriptures are important. I feel that I finally know why church attendance and deep heartfelt prayer is so vital. And I have the privilege and responsibility to teach that to everyone. I’m grateful that I get to teach that to the members of this ward & help strengthen their testimonies as well.

I just love it, okay? (Also I got that skirt for 3 dollars at goodwill)

I just love it, okay? (Also I got that skirt for 3 dollars at                                                                   goodwill)

I will stop existing when I leave the beach, I hope I stay here for 18 months!!

I will stop existing when I leave the beach, I hope I stay here for 18                                                            months!!

IMG_0153

Before Christmas, Sister Pasko & I ran into a really cool guy named Jay and he said that he wanted us to help him paint something & that he would call us after Christmas. Well he didn’t and we never saw him again. UNTIL YESTERDAY we went over to his house and taught him the entire restoration. He asked us if he could have Book of Mormon and we were like, “that will be 3 payments of $19.99” just kidding, but really who does that. Anyway, it was really great and just the best because we sat on his front porch in the 70 degree weather and just watched the sun set as we talked about God and faith. Life could literally not get any better.

I’m still waiting for this to get hard, I guess.

Tell someone you love them this week.

xoxo
Sister Aure

Leave a Reply

