Musicals and Miracles!

This week there were 3 nights that I didn’t get back to my apartment until 12:30. That just doesn’t happen as a missionary! The best part is that we still had to wake up at 6:20 every morning, so I’m basically living on a hope & a prayer right now.

IMG_0644

We’re going to use everything Satan throws at us to our advantage.

The reason for this would be the Book of Mormon Musical. On Wednesday, Friday, Saturday night, & Sunday afternoon, we spent about 6 hours at & around the theatre handing out pass along cards & sharing with people what the Book of Mormon is really about. Some people said, “Oh I think I know enough about your religion already…”. Some people had a genuine curiosity as to what the Book of Mormon really is. Some people wanted to take selfies with us to show their friends that they met “real” missionaries. Some people asked me if I wanted to be their date to the show. Some people walked out in the middle of the show & said, “I don’t know how anyone who considers themselves a Christian can sit through that show.” Some people gave us their phone numbers! Or added us on Facebook! Some people were members of the church!

A lot of people were ex members of the church. Some people were actually IN the show! We got to know the actors pretty well actually, because we saw them every night. They are all super nice people & told us about when they were in western New York the church bused them out to Palmyra & gave them a personal tour. They all talked about that like it was the coolest thing they’ve done with the show so far. I’m very glad that they were able to go somewhere and feel the spirit that resides near & around dedicated buildings.

IMG_0604

These two wanted a selfie with real missionaries.

FullSizeRender (13)

This was the team of 12 missionaries that I worked with for four showings!

This was the team of 12 missionaries that I worked with for four showings!

The last night that we were there (the night that we were able to hand out 6 boxes of Books of Mormon) all of the the theatre goers had left. The few stragglers that were still there were up by the front door where we weren’t supposed to go. There was an older woman up there wearing a yellow cardigan & I kept feeling like I needed to talk to her. So I gritted my teeth, walked across the street, up the steps, & complimented her outfit. We started talking, then her friend started chatting with us, & then her husband starting chatting with us! We talked all about the Book of Mormon & about how missions actually work. Then we found out that they lives 45 minutes away….IN JAX BEACHES! How miraculous is that?! We were able to get their phone numbers & we plan on visiting them this week.

IMG_0627

We handed out over 500 Books of Mormon in just two days! The black elder on the far left is Elder Williams and he is from Ghana! Elder Thompson next to me in from Houston, but his parents are from South America. Sister McCook is one of my STL’s!

One of the best things about this experience was working with the other missionaries. There was only one missionary working with us that had been out for less than a year & he is my zone leader. There were two missionaries that are going home in four weeks. I wasn’t lying last time when I said that the missionaries I would be working with are the best of the best. They were out there talking with everyone unashamed & boldly testifying of what they hold near & dear to their hearts. It was so humbling to work side by side with them. I don’t know why I was chosen, but I will forever be grateful for the blessing that it was.

IMG_0593

These cuties were dressed up as missionaries to see their favorite Broadway musical

Our miracle un-named family came to church on Sunday (we had five total investigators at church on Sunday!) but we haven’t been able to alk to them about how it went yet, so I’m still not going to jinx it just in case. & I gave a talk! I was nervous, but I think it went well. I was able to get them laughing, so at least I didn’t bore everyone to death. & I’ve also been asked to sing next week in church. Everyone’s going to get so sick of me! Too much Sister Aure at the pulpit.

I’ve been getting a lot of emails & study sessions about charity lately & I guess that’s only appropriate because Valentine’s Day is coming up this week. Someone sent me a quote that I really love. It’s by Elder Cornish, “I am led to believe that our Heavenly Father loves us so much that the things that are important to us become important to him just because he loves us.” Can you imagine what the world would feel like if we followed Christ’s example & all felt that way about everyone?

IMG_0620

I live in the prettiest mission in the world!

Anyway….this week was great & I know it’s just the beginning. I can’t wait to see what the next 16 months hold.

Happy Valentine’s Day. Try to spread the love to someone that may not get any from anyone else. We all have the potential to have the Christ like love for others.

Sister Aure

One thought on “Musicals and Miracles!

  1. Oh dear Ashtyn, what a blessing you are to those you continue to serve. I love reading of your adventures and journey. There is no doubt in my mind these experiences will bless your life now and in the next life, as well. Keep serving and keep sharing! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

