Called to Serve

Every Wednesday in July/August, we were all expecting a mission call in the mail. Every Wednesday we got a little sad, when the mail box was empty. Being a little perplexed as to why it was taking so long, I made a few calls to my bishop, stake president, downtown mission office, and home ward bishop to see what was going on. Turns out it had been sitting on somebody’s desk for a few weeks because part of it had been incomplete, but nobody had told me! So I rushed around the next couple of days to get a test taken and submitted for review by the mission department. They confirmed to me that my call would be in that Wednesday!

The day my call arrived in the mail, I was a jittery mess. I had been waiting for this moment since January. I left work early so I could be at home when it arrived (even though I wouldn’t be opening it until later that night with my family). I would walk outside every few minutes to see if the mailman was nearby. Seriously. Mess. I felt like a crazy neighborhood lady that is always snooping around outside. I ended up just waiting on the curb as the mailman drover ever so slowly to my mail box. As he pulled up, he said, “Let me guess: Mission Call.” I squeaked out a yes, & he handed me a big, white, church issued envelope addressed to “Sister Aure”. I almost died. I called my mom & she asked me where it felt like the location was. I said, “Uhhh…southern…ish. It feels like it’s in the South.”

I met my family at my sister’s apartment in Salt Lake that night. My good friend Bekah J was able to be there too, which I am so grateful for. We all gave a guess as to where I would be going & Step-Dad Scott got it right!!! I opened it and read the words I had always wanted to read.

Dear Sister Aure

You are hereby called to serve as a missionary for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. You are assigned to labor in the Jacksonville, Florida Mission. It is anticipated that you will serve for a period of 18 months.

You should report to the Provo Missionary Training Center on Wednesday, November 19th. You will prepare to preach to gospel in the English language…

There are a few reasons that I know, without a shadow of doubt in my mind, that the timing and location of this mission are exactly what I need. Mission calls are truly inspired. I can’t wait to have an even deeper testimony of that as I enter the mission field & learn more about the kind of missionary & person that God wants me to be.

 

10628618_10152673179663076_5714036436151287620_n

10522005_10152580844363076_6850209828922265149_n

DESKPC - WIN_20140718_161739

Leave a Reply

